

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Kate Falk, NSTA (703) 312-9211 <u>kfalk@nsta.org</u>

The National Science Teachers Association Announces 2011 Teachers Awards Program Recipients

Top Science Educators From Around the Country Honored

ARLINGTON, Va. — **March XX, 2011** — The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning, announced the winners of the 2011 NSTA Teacher Awards Program, which honors K-12 teachers, principals, professors and other science education professionals for their outstanding work and achievement in science education. The awards will be presented at a special banquet and ceremony on Friday, March 11, at NSTA's 59th National Conference on Science Education in San Francisco.

NSTA will present its highest and most prestigious award, the Robert H. Carleton Award, to former NSTA President Dr. Emma Walton, a science education consultant for NASA Aerospace Education and Avante-Garde Learning Foundation in Anchorage, Alaska. The Robert H. Carleton Award recognizes one individual who has made outstanding contributions to, and provided leadership in, science education at the national level and to NSTA in particular.

Walton has spent much of her career helping to improve the quality of science education for educators and students nationwide. Her commitment and dedication to the education field spans over several decades. Walton began her career as a high school biology teacher in Metairie, Louisiana before moving to administrative positions in education. A passionate and well-recognized science education leader, Walton has served as president of the National Science Supervisors Association, now known as the National Science Education Leadership Association (NSELA), the Alaska Science Teachers Association (ASTA), and the Alaska Association for

Supervision and Curriculum Development. Additionally, Walton played a critical role in the development of curriculum for the Anchorage School District.

In addition to her tenure as president, her devotion to NSTA is exemplified by her work on a range of committees, advisory boards, judging panels, and task forces. Walton has also been recognized extensively for her contributions to science education. She is the recipient of the NSTA Distinguished Service to Science Education Award, the NSTA Search for Excellence in Science Education Award for Outstanding Science Supervision, and the NSTA Search for Excellence Award for Outstanding Elementary Science Program. She has also been recognized by the Society of Elementary Presidential Awardees with its Distinguished Service Award, was named Outstanding School Administrator by the Anchorage School District, and was a finalist for the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce Educator of the Year.

NSTA is also honoring the following recipients:

Angela Award

-- Camille Adajar, student, Central Lee Middle School, Donnellson, Iowa

NSTA Presidential Citation

-- Joseph I. Stepans, Professor Emeritus, University of Wyoming, Laramie, Wyoming

NSTA Distinguished Informal Science Education Award, partially sponsored by ServiceMaster

-- Manuel Hernandez, science specialist, Fresno Community Science Workshop, Fresno, California

NSTA Distinguished Service to Science Education Award, partially sponsored by ServiceMaster

- -- Thomasena Woods, STEM AESP Advisor, NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, Virginia
- -- Karen Worth, senior scientist, Education Development Center, Inc. Newton, Massachusetts

NSTA Distinguished Teaching Award, partially sponsored by ServiceMaster

-- Susan German, science teacher, Hallsville Middle School, Hallsville, Missouri

Faraday Science Communicator Award

-- Ed Barker, Kell High School Robotics Team, Marietta, Georgia

BioRad Biotechnology Explorer Award

-- Kevin McLean, science teacher, Lakes Community High School, Lake Villa, Illinois

DCAT "Making a Difference" Award

- -- High School: Ophelia Barizo, science teacher, Highland View Academy, Hagerstown, Maryland
- -- Middle School: Colleen Howard, science Coordinator, Mesa Unified Schools, Mesa, Arizona

Delta Education/ FREY-NEO/ CPO Science Education Award for Excellence in Inquiry-Based Science Teaching

- -- *Elementary Level*: Kristy Smith, science teacher, Cedar Grove Elementary School, Williamson, South Carolina
- -- Middle Level: Greer Harvell, science teacher, Meigs Middle School, Shalimar, Florida
- -- *High School Level*: Gamal Sherif, science teacher, Science Leadership Academy, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Disney's Planet Challenge (Sponsoring Teacher Recognition)

-- Julie Schnedler, science teacher, Mediapolis Community School, Mediapolis, Iowa

The DuPont Challenge[©] Science Essay Competition (Sponsoring Teacher – Award)

- -- Sharon Reynolds, science teacher, Tower Hill School, Wilmington, Delaware
- -- Renee Dewald, science teacher, Evanston Township High School, Evanston, Illinois

SeaWorld/Busch Gardens Outstanding Environmental Educator Award

-- Paul Ritter, science teacher, Pontiac Township High School, Pontiac, Illinois

Shell Outstanding Science Teaching Award

- -- Awardee: Susie Stevens Edens, science teacher, Latta High School, Ada, Oklahoma
- -- Finalist: Kareen Borders, science teacher, Key Peninsula Middle School, LakeBay, Washington
- -- Finalist: Bill Richey, science teacher, Xenia High School, Xenia, Ohio

Sylvia Shugrue Award for Elementary School Teachers

--Melissa Collins, elementary teacher, John P. Freeman Optional School, Memphis, TN

Vernier Software & Technology Awards

- -- *Elementary Level*: Lynn Fagerholm, science teacher, Kenston Intermediate School, Chagrin Falls, Ohio
- -- Middle Level: Nicole Ackerson, science teacher, Berkeley Preparatory School, Tampa, Florida
- -- Middle Level: Rebekah Hammack, science teacher, Stillwater Middle School, Stillwater, Oklahoma
- -- High School Level: Celeste Best, science teacher, Oyster River High School, Durham, New Hampshire
- -- High School Level: Lai Cao, science teacher, Baton Rouge High School, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
- -- High School Level: Frank Wood, science teacher, Hardin Valley Academy, Knoxville, Tennessee
- -- College Level: Julie Ealy, professor, Pennsylvania State University, Center Valley, Pennsylvania

Wendell G. Mohling Outstanding Aerospace Educator Award, sponsored by Sally Ride Science and the Challenger Center for Space Science Education

-- Ken Huff, science teacher, Mill Middle School, Williamsville, New York

Zula International–NSTA Early Science Educator Awards

-- *NSTA/CESI*: Bianca Deliberto, elementary teacher, Zachary Elementary School, Zachary, Louisiana -- *NAEYC/NHSA*: Jason Pittman, science lab teacher, Hollin Meadows Science and Math focus School,

Alexandria, Virginia

"These teachers are creating a great future," said Alan McCormack, president, NSTA. "With creativity and ingenuity they are equipping the next generation with the skills needed to succeed."

NSTA encourages science educators to apply for its 2012 teacher awards. Applications and information can be found online at <u>http://www.nsta.org/about/awards.aspx</u>.

About NSTA

The Arlington, VA-based National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), <u>www.nsta.org</u>, is the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all. NSTA's current membership includes approximately 60,000 science teachers, science supervisors, administrators, scientists, business and industry representatives, and others involved in science education.

###